Chinatown: A Photoshoot w/ Joanie

Grand total for the goods? $3.75

It’s been a hectic week. Joe got a nasty boil on his head – so much of my time was spent helping him go to the ER, etc. He’s fine now. Sunday was all me. It’s been cold for too long this winter and this weekend we finally had some REAL warm weather. So I took advantage of it. This whole idea started when I received an email Friday from a reporter at the Brooklyn Paper asking me to answer a few questions for an article she’s writing to promote this cooking contest I’m participating in: Park Slope Pork-Off. She also asked me to submit a pic of me cooking or eating something w/ pork in it. Chinatown proved to be the PERFECT place for this. It was also a great day to spend some quality time w/ my sis Joanie who also happens to be professional photographer. For those in the know – Chinatown is a ‘hood I’ve become intimately familiar with. It’s my one-stop shopping spot for groceries, particularly when cooking Asian food. I enjoy wandering around the different veggie stands/butchers (mostly on Grand – Canal is too annoying) for the freshest ingredients. Don’t get me wrong – I enjoy places like Fairway and Trader Joe’s – but I’ve found the best basic produce in Chinatown. I hit the other spots for the specialty stuff. So armed w/ my Brooklyn grocery bag and my sister and her Canon 5D, away we went! Enjoy the pix!

Posted in Foodie. 2 Comments »

2 Responses to “Chinatown: A Photoshoot w/ Joanie”

  1. trEmaine Says:

    that’s a great shot of you right there, lady… *nods* Good Luck re: the cooking contest. I’m interested in seeing what you enter for the actual dish… *nods*

  2. Mom Says:

    So do we get to see your pork recipe?


Leave a Reply

