90

 Valentine’s Day means so much more to me than a box of chocolate and a hot date.  This is the day that my paternal grandmother aka Apo was born in 1918.  She is still alive and well. Gentle and wise like Yoda.  I try to call her every couple of weeks to see how she’s doing and of course I didn’t forget her birthday.  We talked for a few about life mostly about work and what I ate that day.  I asked her if anybody was coming over and she said “just us.”  “Just us” means 7 of her 8 children, 9 of 13 grandchildren, and 10 great grandchildren.  Whenever there’s a Filipino party in Concord, CA, chances are the Cuencos are at the helm.  With the advent of technology I got to join in on some of the fun! This clip is of me greeting Apo for her birthday (in our native tongue, of course) and her blowing out the candles.  You may want to turn down the volume as the Cuencos have no sense of pitch control. 🙂 Enjoy!

2 Responses to “90”

  1. sabrinasmom Says:

    Hi I found your site via Gary’s. I loved your post about your Grandmother. I had to laugh because my daughter came in the room while I was watching and pointed to the young girl in the back (with the glassess) and said, “hey that’s my friend from dance class.” Small world.

  2. Isabella Says:

    Nah, I think Apo has more grand children than 13…


Leave a Reply

