Eating Healthy. Eating Tasty.

For those who don’t know, I started the South Beach Diet after Thanksgiving.  I’ve never really cared about watching my weight, since my metabolism has always been pretty high, but I’ve noticed over the past year that it has slowed down considerably and none of my clothes fit.  Moreover, relatives took note in August and they’d NEVER said anything about my figure before. I knew something was up. During my physical on November 13th, I learned I’d gained 30 lbs. since I graduated in May 2006!I decided that after Thanksgiving I would start cutting down on the bad food – starchy carbs (white rice), junk, sugary sweets, and increase my intake of the good stuff. I sought out a diet that best fit my needs – I wanted to eat good, tasty food and work on eating healthier (not high fat, low carb).  I decided on the South Beach since it emphasizes all those things and so far I’ve lost a lot of the belly flab.  Best of all – I can still eat things like sirloin steak and not feel guilty! The first couple of days without white rice was tough, but I haven’t really craved it since then. I did eat a little carb over the past weekend because it was me & Joe’s 1 year anniversary (had two fries and dessert at Les Halles), but I didn’t fully lose my grip. I think if I ate fast food right now, my stomach would rebel!So in the spirit of sharing – I decided to add a ‘foodie’ tab and post up my recipes and Yelp! restaurant reviews of good eats.Bon appetit! 

One Response to “Eating Healthy. Eating Tasty.”

  1. Bayang/Isabella/Izzy Says:

    WOW!!! 30 pounds! And you said you didn’t look big when you were here….


Leave a Reply

