Parties & Bullshit…

I’ve been trying to end the summer with a bang to ease the depression of Fall. It’s not just a time for seasonal transition – but making moves on the work and social scene as well. I’m closing up shop here at the soon-to-be old gig and moving onto the new gig Monday. Same agency, different age group. Vettie Vette will be working with the young ones! 5 to 10 year olds at a program in Boro Park. No longer will I have the joys of commuting 20 minutes to/from work to ghettofab Fulton Mall in BK. I’ll still be in BK but worlds away from Jimmy Jazz and McDonald’s! Boro Park is a predominately Hassidic Jewish neighborhood. Not many businesses for us goys at lunchtime so it looks like I will have to start preparing lunches again.

DJing has been a fun change of pace from the hectic rigors of work and I’m learning a lot about the business while I’m at it. Marketing and schmoozing is one of my least favorite activities, but to get the gigs it must be done. I’ve already agreed to play at a BK venue that I loathe just to build upon Sistamatik’s roster of gigs.

Marketing includes going to industry parties. Can’t be too picky in this business, otherwise you’ll be left in the dust. Fortunately, DJing for me isn’t a career-change, just something I enjoy doing on the side with the freedom to play whatever I want. Another way of connecting with people. And I think that’s one way of preventing myself from “selling out”. My boyfriend, Joey, has just started a new job for RNR Freelance this week. A move up from the previous firmthatshallnotbenamed aka Voldemort PR. I had my first taste of an industry party on Wednesday. It was a small affair, but good to see that not all parties are schmoozefests. I stuck to my own little crowd and let Sabrina work the room. She’s better at it than I am. Next up is the SwizzBeats album release party. Not exactly the person I want to listen to or see on a Tuesday nite, but a chance to meet famous people. I’m going to try and get a pic with Reverend Run if he’s there!

2 Responses to “Parties & Bullshit…”

  1. tremaine Says:

    you guys have all of the fun 🙂 lol…

    I hope your first day at the new job site|scene went well. happy partying.

  2. Brina Payne Says:

    And this is JUST the beginning! Prepare yourself Ms. Cuenco!


Leave a Reply

